The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One of the most significant aspects of human development is the ability to reach as much information as possible. This way, global trends, tendencies and proclivities will be easily grasped by the people and, if necessary, can be asked from the relevant authorities. In this sense I mostly agree with the statement, while I acknowledge that this sense of questioning must be intricately followed as I will mention below.

Firstly, the more people are informed the more they are aware about what is going on the global level. One of the most important factors to this end will be questioning what their government is doing and what they should be doing. This will make them more responsive and will create the urge to investigate and learn more and more. For example, let’s assume that a government is reluctant to make investment to a very sophisticated and technological health equipment system aiming to deal with recent pandemic that is tearing down the long established norms of human lives. If the peoples of that country are aware of the recent developments and following the global trends they will surely be capable of evaluating the decision of their government and they can surely find a way to bring their reaction to the attention of relevant authorities since they are not confined with what their officials tell them to believe. This will not only create a pressure on the government to act but also give them the opportunity to refresh themselves.

Secondly, governments are always prone to exploiting. No matter how educated they are, no matter how sincere they are, government officials have always been under the spotlight. There is no exception to this. They must have the inner feeling that they are being watched to be able to overcome the feeling of self indulgence. The only way to realize this will always be with the attendance of the people. They must show that officials are the representatives of the people not they are not the ruler and their every move will be watched with a sense of hesitation. They must demonstrate not only their aims but also their motives and the logical reasons behind their every decision to make their voters satisfied.

However, being able to watch politicians and decision takers is always a difficult and technical duty to do. There is always need for a technical perspective which regular voters usually lack. Following the judiciary and legislatory processes is an immense job that can be taken care of only by big think tanks or law firms. Besides, this will also create a burden on the people who actually feel relieved by just voting and giving the responsibility to the politicians. And they lack the enthusiasm when it comes to the questioning the politicians and morals of their decisions. They just want to decide that on the voting day which they do once in a couple of years.

In the conclusion, I mostly agree that people should follow and evaluate the actions of their governments to let them know that they are being followed to be able to prosper. However this will always be costly and difficult for ordinary people.