In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the survey and the research may prove to be fruitful initiatives to be able to understand reading habits of Waymarsh, the argument depends on three unsubstantiated assumptions that hinder the persuasiveness of the author's claim.

Firstly, the writer of the prompt assumes that all the people in Waymarsh go to public libraries to read, which causes a catastrophic inference for the writer. Why should people go to libraries just to read? In the end, reading is not a research issue. When the technology made the lives of people so easier, why should people bother themselves to go to libraries just to read something. Moreover, nowadays people don't even need material books anymore. There are many convenient ways to exploit this habit. Laptops, tablets, e-book readers and many more now supplant actual books. Thus, assuming that readers only read in libraries is an egregious mistake that can mislead the survey immensely.

Secondly, the author presumes that the respondents of the survey and library goers are the same people. Because of this mistake, correlation link between the survey and library check out results is broken, hence that leads to a misleading result. In addition, taking what respondents tell during the survey at face value can be erroneous. Initially, the survey should be reliable, valid and representative. For example, when the survey was conducted, how were the respondents chosen? Were they asked how many books they read in a month? And to be able to relate their interaction with the library opportunities, they should be asked how many times they visit public libraries. If these requirements are not met, evidently, the result will be unreliable.

Thirdly, the time of survey and the research on the libraries is not mentioned in the prompt, which brings questions into the minds of the people. If a ten year old survey's results were utilized for this research, it may be quite deceptive. Maybe the results of the survey was very representative and dependable, but after ten year period the tastes of the people of Waymarsh has changed. Maybe a mystery novel writer from Waymarsh became very famous, won Noble prize in Literature and altered the choices of people living in Waymarsh. Without additional information about when survey and research are done, expounding the results will be futile.

Overall, the results of the survey and research have too much dissimilarities and leave too many questions unanswered to use them as justification. Hence, the prompt is far from being cogent and persuasive without these problems addressed.