80. In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

The author of this argument claims that Waymarsh citizens misrepresented their reading preferences. However, this assumption rests on many skewed assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

To begin with, the author mentioned that the most checked out in library is the mystery novel. On the other hand, the author proposed that this contradicted to the study conducted by the university of Waymarsh, which most respondents said they preferred literary. But the author failed to consider the possibility that for those who owned their copy of literary classics inside their home, are not going to library and borrowed the reading material which they already possessed. Therefore, the author needs to provide more details about the study for readers to be convinced.

But it’s also worth considering that those people checked out mystery novel might not be the same group as those citizens that the survey studied. For example, for people who tend to go to public libraries might be teenager or college students. Therefore, they probably preferred mystery novel or sci-fi novel, rather than literary classic, such as Les Miserables.

Last but not least, the author didn’t consider what if there’s some problem about the way that the process of study. For instance, there is no choice of mystery novel for Waymarsh citizens, who underwent investigation by University of Waymarsh, therefore result of the study come out to be varied significantly. In conclusion, the author should give sufficient details about how the survey being conducted by the University of Waymarsh, in order to make the standing of the argument being persuasive.

To sum up, the arguer fails to substantiate his claims that Waymarsh citizens misrepresented their reading preferences. Because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend strong support to what arguer maintains. To make It more convincing, he would have to demonstrate some details mentioned in previous paragraph. As a result, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would be more thorough and logically acceptable.