The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Thu author of this argument claims that reducing the working hour can cause the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot lower and thereby increase productivity. However, this argument rests on many skewed assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

To begin with the author mentioned that on hour work shifts difference between Panoply industries and Quiot Manufacturing, has significant influence to accidents which happened on the job. Nevertheless, the author didn’t provide a sufficient data about the origin working hours. For example, if the working hour of Panoply industries plant is only 6 hours, as indicate in the author assumption, the working hours of Quiot Manufacturing is 7 hours, which I believed that there are 17 hours left for the worker to take a rest. Thus, it’s hard for reader to believe that an hour difference between two factories can cause this gigantic difference on accidents rate.

But it’s also worth considering that, the accident rate is related to the work shifts hour. Since, I do mention previously, that the difference between the working hour is so mighty to cause the huge difference on accident rate. I believed that there must be other indexes or reasons that will be proportion to the accident rate. As a result, the author should do further investigation and provide enough data for reader to believe the assumption.

Last, but not least, the author proposed that fatigue and sleep deprivation will lower the productivity. Therefore, the Quiot Manufacturing should shrink the work shifts by one hour, in order to increase the productivity. Hence, the author failed to consider that if the work shifts really be shorten by one hour, which means the workers will work less, result in lowering the productivity. But, if Quiot Manufacturing decided not to shorten the working hours, even though the accident might happen, the worker being influence by the accident must only be a small percentage among all workers, which means that the effect on the productivity must be smaller than shorten a working hour of all workers.

To sum up, the arguer fails to substantiate his claim that reduce the number of working hours can fix the circumstance that the Quiot Manufacturing has facing.

Because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend strong support to what the arguer maintains. To make it more convincing, he would have to demonstrate that the relationship mentioned above. As a result, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more thorough and logically acceptable.