50. The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. Indisputably, negative actions could have some experience that is worthy for us to learn. Nevertheless, negative actions could demonstrate a bad behavior for students to imitate. Personally, I think we should examine the example that we presented to our student, if there’s anything that is worthy for students to know, even though it’s bad, we should teach them. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that we should teach all the negative actions because it has some experience inside it, and would argue that negative actions could demonstrate a bad behavior for student to imitate.

First of all, praising positive actions and ignore negative ones could construct the right personality. Exposure under the positive actions would make student tend to imitate, result in forming the right personality. To illustrate, let us took at the example of the well know George Washington. He cut down the cherry tree on his back yard, and didn’t afraid of being scolded by his father, will to admit his guilt. After hearing this story, when I make a mistake, I will be willing to admit my mistake and take the responsibility of consequences. In the circumstance, the right personality has been established in my mindset. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that teaching the positive actions had benefit on forming the right personality.

But it’s also worth considering that only praising the positive action is not enough. Specifically, the negative one also brought some experience. A good case would be Albert Einstein, although he is well famous in Physics, and quite success, but he wasn’t faithful to his marriage, and result in staying single until he’s dead. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that we shouldn’t only look at others success, but should consider the example thoroughly, and gaining experience from the example. Hence, all the evidence demonstrates that we should consider what we teach to our students, even if the actions are bad, but if there’s meaning inside it, we should also praise.

In conclusion, although negative ones could have some specific meaning that we should never ignore, but the positive one must also being applaud. As long as some measurements are performed, or some area involved, we should consider the meaning behind the action. In fact, not only praise positive one and ignore negative one, but considering comprehensively, if the motivation behind the negative action is good, then we should also praise.