133. Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether universities should require student to take a variety of courses in different fields or not. Indisputably, require students to study in fields that they are not interesting or not helpful for them to prepare jobs is not necessary. Nevertheless, studying in different fields can really broaden one’s horizon. In my opinion, we should all study in multiple fields, which can provide us different thought from different fields. But I don’t think that student should be require by the universities. Thus, I generally disagree with the idea that universities should require students to take a variety of courses, and would argue that student should study more in multiple fields, or the fields that they aren’t familiar.

To begin with, studying multiple fields can provide us different aspect of view toward the same thing. I would like to point out that the point of view of different department can be varied considerably. My personal experience is a compelling example, while I was in junior year of college, I studied in Physics department, and undergo a lot of simulation with coding. Therefore, I have interested in coding and decided to delve into it. Hence, I took some courses under the Computer Science department. While studying in those courses, I found that they using the coding in completely different aspect, they’re trying to optimize those algorithms which already fast enough, without any simulation of reality phenomenon or particle usage. In the circumstance, it’s a perfect example of how a thing can be varied dramatically in different department.

But it’s also worth considering that studying in multiple fields can broaden one’s horizon. Specifically, if we staying in one department for our entire college life, we won’t have the opportunities to learn the knowledge in different fields. For instance, due to I interested in stock, I took some courses in Finance department, in order to learn how to make profit from stock. It really helps me open my eyes, I learned how to examine a company’s financial report, and calculated whether it’s a good timing to buy in or sell. Both common sense and experience have told us that we should studying in multiple fields, which we have interested in. Hence, all the evidence demonstrate that students should studying in as more fields as possible, nevertheless, with students will rather than forcing by universities.

In conclusion, although studying in those none relative fields have none help for jobs, but it’s important that our horizon should be broaden, and we should learn to see thing from different aspect of view. As long as some measurements are performed, or some area involved, we should study in multiple fields. In fact, by our own will, rather than forcing by universities or others.