85. Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

The author of this argument claims that due to some facts, which can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville, however, the argument fails to rule out a series of alternative explanations, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

To begin with, the author claims that workers in Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton. However, the author failed to consider that there might be other reason to attribute the sick days. For example, weather will be an important factor to cause sick, or perhaps the bustle and hustle of large city will also lead workers become mentally or physically illness. As a result, the author should do further investigation in order to find out other explanations for the evidence to be compelling.

But it’s also worth considering that the stress-related illness can be attributed to population size. Nevertheless, the author didn’t provide a sufficient data about the land area of these two, therefore, it’s hard for reader to believe that the large city with more population will definitely has small land area, which cause the population density much higher than small town. Furthermore, the author should also indicate that whether there’s enough places for people to relax or not. Personally, I believed that it would be an important factor compared to population size.

Last but not least, although the pace in small town is slow indeed, to attribute the health benefits simply to the pace of life is hard for reader to convince. Health benefits should be a result under multiple influence. Such as the medical center or the sports center, nonetheless, the places for people to do outdoor activity, such as lakes for fishing, mountain for climbing. In order to prove the small town has health benefits toward people, the author should also indicate these details.

To sum up, the author fails to substantiate his claim that the facts mentioned above to be health benefits for small town. Because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend strong support to what the arguer maintains. To make it more convincing, he would have to demonstrate some details as shown in above. As a result, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more thorough and logically acceptable.