Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

In the argument, the author suggests that the people should consider moving to smaller towns where the pace of life is slow and less hectic to improve the health and overall life expectancy. The conclusion of the argument is based on several premises, which, if correct, might indicate that the argument holds water. However, as it stands now, the conclusion relies on three unwarrented assumptions, which diminish the plausibility of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the relaxed pace of life in small town in contrary to the hectic pace of life in larger cities is the only sole causal factor for the better health and longer life of the people residing in those smaller towns. However, there could be various other factors like the pollution, easy access of home assessories, etc. that make life easier, and many more factors that might be influencial to people's health. For instance, many smaller towns lack proper health facilites that can assist people during severe health problem which can greatly hinder the overall health of the people. Just shifting from the hectic life of large town to slow pace life of small town might not be sufficient enough for better health, as suggested by the author.

Moreover, the case of the small town of Leeville vs the large city of Masonton could be one off exception and the observation might not be applicable for other places as well. Maybe, the people living in the city of Masonton had many underlying health issue irrespective of their hectic lifestyle. For example, Mumbai is one of the highly densed city in India and Pune is another smaller town in its vicinity. However, people still prefer Mumbai to reside despite the fact that there is a possibility of slow paced life in Pune. The reason could be unavailability of better health facility or maybe the new town is not pollution free and not in the state to promote better health itself. It seems like a far-fetched conclusion that the same case as that mentioned in the argument would be applicable for all other towns and cities. Such assumptions, without any further support, seems bleak and heavily undermine the suggestion made by the author.

Finally, the author assumes that the sick leave taken by the workers at the city of Masonton is due to the health issue only and the workers are not using it for other purposes. In many cases, due to hectic lifestyle, workers might ask for a sick leave and complete their other pending obligations. For instance, a person might be taking a sick leave to attend a parents meet at his child's school, because he already used up the quota of his casual leave. The list of such examples might go on and on without the management team even noticing it. So, to base the conclusion on this assumption, only makes the conclusion weak and unpersuasive.

To conclude, the author might have made a valid suggestion that the health and life expectancy of people can be enhanced by living in smaller towns in comparison to the cities with hectic lifestyle. However, as it stands now, the assumptions on which the suggestion is based seem unwarrented and hinder the plausibility of the suggestion unless supported further by the author with some more pieces of evidence.