In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

The voice for change in power is not new in the world. There have been multiple cases where public rushed out in street to portray their dissatisfaction against prolonged rule of single person or organization. Change, that too in a right time and right amount seems to be the need of modern society. I mostly agree that there should be change in governance or officiating people in a periodic basic, preferrably in every five years, as mentioned in given prompt. I choose to stand by this prompt primarily because of two reason, which I will buttress shortly, however, I do concede that, there could be a few exceptions where a prolonged period of solo regime might go fine as well.

First of all, it is a well known human nature to get complacent once we get used to it. Not necessarily applicable to all, but mostly, it is what we usually see. Once in the power, the effort and dedication that were quite edivent while pursuing it faces a discernible decline. Whats more appropriate than the example of most of the politicians from across the world? Barring some exception, public are rarely satisfied with the politicians that they have in their countries. Politicians tend to slow down their work rate once they establish themselves in the position that they pursued so relentlessly. A time period of five years is more than enough to gauze a person for his efficiency and output. In best case scenario, the person can set up a pace for his successors after a descent progress in his five years tenure. In more pessimistic scenario, if the person did not meet the expectation and was poor in terms of desired output, there is no reason continuting with the same person for more than five years. In either case, this time period could be a benchmark of assessment of the person in power.

Moreover, once a person gets the taste of power, the possibility of misuse of authority can not be ruled out. Normally the people in power are checked and balanced with regulatory bodies, but cases of venality and corruption are often the result of power misuse. Once established in a position, a person is more likely to exploit its loop hole, compared to the person who is relatively new to the position. So, this periodic change of officials, as stated by the given prompt is essential to maintain the balance between task completion and fear of authority. For example, as per the recent study of Amnesty Internation, a major entity that studies the rate of corruption around the world, corruption rate was found to be relatively higher in the countries where the bureaucrats were officiating for more that ten years.

Admittedly, there could be a few exceptions where some multi-year projects might require stable management that could officiate for a prolonged period of time to ensure the smooth operation. However, normally, it is for the best that the officials need to step down from their authority after their tenure of five years to allow influx of fresh prespective and energy, which is essential for maintaining progress, be it in politics or any other field.