The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation made by the vice president to the company's president at climpson Industries regarding the implementation of electronic monitoring of employees very superficial and based on very weak assumptions. So, they cannot be supported and there are multiple reasons for that.

The vice president focuses on implementing harsh measures on the employees with an assumption that it might uplift the work ethic and improve the overall profits. However, the vice president did not give much importance on the mental aspect of the employees. His affinity towards the traditional approach of task completion is discernible. This might turn counter productive. Various studies have indicated that the employee are able to operate in their maximum efficiency only when that are allowed to be in their comfort zone. It is true that the employee must follow the general rules of the work place, but they must be allowed to have some breathing space of their own. The work efficieny of the employee is directly associated with thier mental well being and not only the physical working hours, as presumed by the vice president.

The vice president focuses on increasing the working hours of the employees by limiting their "recreational activities". I have strong disagreement on this observation. This is not the right way to extract full efficiency off the employee. Rather, they can be given a certain assignment over a fix time scale and they can be judged based on the quality and quantity of thier end results. In the modern world, the management team and the employee must work as a common team, with proper sharing and understanding to yield the maximum output.

Quite evidently, the corporate sector as mentioned in this recommendation require even more intensive thinking and mental stress. So, little bit of comfort zone can help the employees to reboot themselves and get back to normal working speed. We all have heard about the physical setup of big IT companies and multi-billion dollar companies like Apple, GOOGLE, etc. The way these companies have managed the ambience and working environment is astonishing. The employees are not bound with time or harsh boundries.

Rather, the companies have adopted the policy in which they highly rate the completion of assigned task over the way of completion it. The employees are allowed to wander around, be in cafeteria, or even take a power nap. And, unsurprisingly, they are the most successful company in the world. This truely weakens the claim or recommendation made by the vice president.

However, there should always be a bare minimum protocol to ensure that the employees with really bad intension are kept in check. This helps the management team to filter their best team. Nevertheless, tt should always be in coordination between the management and employees.

So, the recommendation made by the vice president regarding the implementation of electronic monitoring of the employees seems like a very weak and superficially thought idea. His whole assumption of improvement of work ethics and productivity has no strong evidence and are easily negated with the evidence presented above.