It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

I mostly agree with the given prompt that a tendency to compromise one's belief could turn more harmful to a person because of two

major reasons, however, I do concede that in some cases, the person might be better off listening to suggestions and letting go of his own belief.

First of all, a person is the best self-critic, and in the best position to self-judge in term of viability of the choosen option. Life is full of twists and turns, which pose a dilemma to decide whether to go with self- belief or adopt other's suggestions. For instance, recently, the employees of largest power utility firm in Nepal came across a confusing situation in which they had to select between the pay raise, or flexibility in working hours. While the pay-raise might sound like the undisputed winner, most of the employees who initially opted the pay-raise option, later submitted the re-application within a few days to choose the option of flexible working hours. It signifies the importance of being able to follow own belief instead of following the trend or peer pressure. Else, in a long run, it might turn harmful in some unforseeable ways.

Moreover, belief is directly associated with the confidence, which in turn is very important factor for success. For instance, if a person initiates a business that he adores and believes to flourish, the person naturally puts all his effort for its success. The positivity plays a vital role in raising the overall mood and success rate of the task. On contrary, if a person is made to initiate something that he is not naturally inclined, the effort might not be as effective as it should have been. This might have a harmful impact for the person involved and compromise the success rate of the task.

However, in some cases, the person might be over-confident, and over estimate the capability. This might pose an extra dimension of escalation in the belief. The best way to mitigate it might be to let go the entrenched belief, and welcome new suggestions from a trusted person. A right balance between holding on self-belief, and incorporating useful suggestions when needed might be the right way to success.

To conclude, self belief is an integral part of the confidence that a person has for himself. So, it might turn harmful to neglect or compromise it. Believing in self, and keeping it in check by means of critical suggestions is the best way to ensure success.