In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I mostly agree with the given prompt that imagination is more important than knowledge in most professions and academic fields because of two major reasons enlisted below. However, I do concede that there could be some exceptions in some cases where profound knowledge is essential to ensure that the task is completed without any hiccups.

First of all, Imagination is a major driving force for innovation. When a person imagines about something, he can go a long way on putting extra efforts to make it happen. On the process, he can even succeed the person having more knowledge than him in that particular field. For instance, Elon Musk is well known in the world right now for his marvellous contribution in the field of modern space travel. Quite surprisingly, he is not a scholar of the aerospace, rather, his imagination of making space travel accessible for general people made him put those extra efforts in that field, which

eventually yielded surprising results. Likewise, famous pioneer scientist Galileo was often scoffed off by the then scholars and scientists for his lack of proper knowledge in scientific arena, which he compensated by his imagination and will power. His contribution was later well appreciated in the scientic circle. Imagination makes people do things that they normally would not, and this is very likely to produce eccentric results. It is well recorded over thousands of years of scientific history that, many scientific innovations were a part of such eccentric results, unpredicted and abrubt.

Moreover, imagination pushes a person to think out of the box, which in many cases helps to generate something new. For example, we often hear interesting news of how a new medicine was developed because of some miscalculated compositions during an experiment. These things happen when a person is brave enough to break the established norms to try something new. Pre-established procedures are very useful for sustaining the existing setup, but when it comes to new inventions, imagination and will-power to make them realise play a vital role. For instance, Sir Issac Newton was often known for his natural tendency for going an extra mile to test his imagination in real life. Sometimes, he was found putting a needle in his own eyes, and sometimes, found hiding in his room for days to avoid sunlight. These all used to be part of his non conventional way of testing his imagination rather than some pre-set proceduresbased on knowledge of some text book. We all are aware of how successful he eventually turned out in terms of scientic inventions.

Admittedly, knowledge has its own place and importance when it comes to maintaining the quality. In some crucial designs of engineering, and minute medical procedures, there is a very little room for imagination. The risk factor of deviating from proven knowledge and procedures is very high. Thus, in such cases, following the knowledge is the right way to go.

To conclude, knowledge has its own place when it comes to minute details of some professions. However, imagination is more important for most professions because of the innovation factor, which is often a result of imagination and will power.