The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time."

*Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter to the editor of a national newspaper, the author concludes that the employees who lost their jobs as a result of corporate downsizing are not facing serious economic hardship, on contrary to the article's assertion. The author's conclusion is based on various premises along with the recent report on the Elthyrian economy. However, in order to validate the conclusion, the author must provide following three additional evidence.

First of all, the author assumes that the recent report on Elthyrian economy is developed scientifically and can be fully relied on. Maybe the new job created are not in the compliance with the skill sets of the fired employees. For example, a employee fired from a software development company like GOOGlE maynot be the best fit for more labor intensive industrial jobs. Thus, the author must provide evidence regarding the old and new job of the employees along with their matching skill sets.

Moreover, the author assumes that the new jobs are equally well paid as the previous jobs. However, the new jobs may need more working hours and more effort for the same amount of payment. For instance, the pay scales of a corporate manager and a janitor are very different, but the janitor may still earn more than a manager if he or she works for extra working hours. Thus, the author must provide evidence regarding the working hours and exact pay scale of the new jobs in order to strengthen the conclusion.

Finally, the author assumes that the employees will have a seamless transition of the jobs from one company to another with any hegitation or without being crestfallen. For instance, the employees in the corporate sector usually dedicate their whole life for the well being of the company, and they could feel emotionally devastated if fired midway into their career. This might hamper them in a long run and also impact thier performance in new job. Thus, the author must provide evidence regarding the mental well-being of the employees before reaching the conclusion.

To conclude, although the author disagrees with the content of the article and concludes that the downsizing of the employees creates no economic hardship to the employees in Elthyria, these three above mentioned evidence must be provided before the validity of the conclusion be assessed.