Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given prompt emphasizes that a leader should be resolute and firm when it comes to executing plans and policies and not get easily influenced by ephemeral or seemingly popular opinions. I mostly agree with the assertion, primarily because of two reasons underlined below, but I do concede that in case of logical opinions, there could be exceptions.

First of all, the leaders should not be easily influenced by frequently changing popular opinions from different group of people because a leader is supposed to be a firm and resolute person whom the general public idolize as a symbol of well-doing and principle.The leader is apparantly capable of changing the fortune of a entire community or even a whole nation when it comes to national level politics. For instance, whenever a newly elected prime minister visit his hometown, it is very likely that a large group of people encircles him with an expectation to make their voices heard for populist budget expenditure in fancy parks, sophisticated roads, etc. However, all of their demands and opinions might not be important enough compared to some other critical requirements like food, shelter, etc. in other localities.

Moreover, the popular opinions often can be misguided and most probably influenced by the emotions rather than logic. For instance, president Bhandari of Nepal recently visited the birth place of buddha, Lumbini recently and a large group of people followed the persident to demand extra budget allocation for establishing a huge statue of lord buddha in the main junction. However, the place is still known for its poverty and the president opted to use the budget for activities that would help to alleviate the poverty. Had the president opted for the budget allocation in huge and apparantly insignificant statue, there could have been a strong opposition from different group of people. This is often seen in context of political leaders when the decision regarding the wise choice between a populist and appropriate decision need to be made. This is basically the myntra of success for any system.

However, there can always be a few exception. Especially, considering the fact that the success of the tenure of a leader is decided by the satisfaction factor of his/ her follower. In some cases, it becomes essential for the leader to satisfy the followers by accepting their popular opinion, provided that the opinion is wise and genuinely important.

To conclude, the leaders are the representative of a large group of people and thus, they must be able to act resolute when it comes to decision making regarding the choice of opinions of public. Since most of the popular opinion are shallow rather than of long term advantage, the leader must be astute enough to remain uninfluenced by those opinion and have his/ her own long term policy to conduct the progressive activities.