People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

I mostly disagree with the given prompt that the immediate context and ambiance have major role to play in determining the attitudes of people rather than society as a whole. While I agree that there could be a few exceptions, I would like to state and elaborate two major reason for my stance against the given prompt.

First of all, the people's attitude is greatly influenced by the society in which they reside because the society is one integral part of human life. The society is where a person learns his/ her basic attributes from early childhood which eventually shapes up the future. For instance, a person who grew up in a violent society amidst the raging wars and crimes, tends to develop similar attitude.Humans are social animals by nature and it might not be very wise to consider that the society has little or no influence on the personal traits. The society makes up a large chunk of who the person really is and how he/ she behaves under various cirumstances.

Moreover, the parents and other family members, who are also the part of the same society in which a person grows up, play a vital role in shaping the attitude of the person for lifetime. The famous proverb " Morning shows the day" is very relevant in this case. That means, what a person learns as a child, in term of attitude or other traits, most probably remains the same for most of his life. For instance, lately, there is a huge surge of montessori and other child care centers that focus on the moral aspect of the child and promise to groom them better for future. If the immediate situations and surroundings were to influence that person's trait to such an extent, what is the purpose of keeping the focus on grooming a child in a better way? Why not let them live the way they like and rely on situation?

Admittedly, there can be a few exceptions where a person can really be pushed beyond his/ her comfort zone and compelled to act according to the situation. For instance, even if a person is known for his/ her well behaved and calm attitude, it is very likely that the person can lose his/ her temper during extreme conditions and turn violent.

To conclude, we have seen plethora of examples of how a kid raised in a well mannered society or a well behaved family is comparatively more composed and follows the basic decorum of society. On contrary, if we take out the society part and analyse a person in term of immediate response only, it could very well be a misleading outcome or some exceptions.