Claim: In any situation, the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments.

Reason: Facts are objective, so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Often in our life, we are left either to persuade someone or in the condition to react to someone else's rationalization. In either case, the main factor to accept the argument is to get persuaded. I would have completely accepted the given claim if not for the addition of extremities by the word "any". Nevertheless, it sounds only logical to agree that the facts, because of their univeral validity, are the most reliable tools to persuade someone. Emotions on the other hand, are prone to manipulation and depends upon the presentation and premise.

Be it a scientific premise or a daily life argument, facts are undeniable if presented with suppporting evidence. Even if the person who is not too fond of us personally is compelled to accept the argument on the basis of presented facts. This is a very strong position in term of getting things done. It spares a person from the unnecessary sycophantic presentation, which can be very tiresome and even unethical sometimes. This makes the distinction between objective claims and subjective appeals very discernible.

The art of persuading is a very subtle form of winning someone over. The subject matter that is being discussed can vary from a common household chores to precise scientific calculation. Whatever the case be, the person making his case with proper facts gets a huge benefit of approval. For instance, the famous scientist Galileo is known for many instances in his life when he tried to articulate his findings and observations to scientific realm and general public. Often, many of those observations, despite their plausibility, were scorned off in lack of proper supporting facts. His presentations were short of facts at that time, which were admired by following generations of scientist once they were supported with proper findings and facts.

Admittedly, the emotions can be notoriously manipulated. The effect of tears and emotions in human decision making can not be completely ruled out in all cases. One of the most prominent example of emotional advantage in persuading is seen in case of politicians. While addressing a huge mass, it is not uncommon for political leaders to get off tract from facts and reality and manipulates itwith added emotional touches. Maybe, some talk of nationalism, or overly ambitous development projects that are not yet studied throughly could win over a huge mass with a few minutes despite a huge question on thier validity. Likewise, in an instance of a family discussion, a child can easily persuade his parents for something he wants with mild emotional touch, despite being no where near any kinds of facts or statistics.

To conclude, the claim is on point to emphasise the importance of facts in persuading other people. The facts indeed are objective and can not be altered. However, the standing with the emotional front could have been a little more linient, in a sense that, in some cases, the emotional aspect, because of its flexibility, can come in handy in persuading another person in some situation.