Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Every day we come across a ton of information, which may or maynot be true. In most of the cases, it does not even matter, however, for important decision makings, it is always better to cross check the reliability of the available information. I mostly agree with the given prompt in a sense that any piece of information available can not be deemed as a fact, and should not be trusted. While there could be some exceptions in cases of highly intellectual guesses and scientific informations, mostly, a mere piece of information can not relied upon, primarily due to following two major reasons.

First of all, facts are the proven statements or prompts that have definite proof and a ground to stand. On contrary, a piece of information can be generated from any unreliable sources and could be just a false propoganda that holds no credibility. For instance, often in capital market, the insider traders try to influence the market by floating false pieces of information as a fact. Some investors fall in trap and lose their capitals by mistaking the false piece of information for a credible fact. The information can only be trusted when it is proven or made official by the authority.

Moreover, irrespective of the type of field, it is an understood norm that there must be some valid point or reasoning for anything to be presented as truth or fact. If any information is claimed to be a fact without any supporting proofs, it might instead be some malicious content intended to harm in some way. For instance, most of the politicians are well known for their escalated public addressing in which they proudly announce false information with great confidence. For public, It is usually a wise option to remain unaffected and rely only on facts when it comes to important decision making.

Admittedly, there could be a few exceptions in case of scientific inventions in which the scientific faternity can consider a information or prompt made out of highly educated guess. For example, if scientists release an information regarding an imminent possible collision of meteor in a particular region of the earth, there could be some possible reason or at least some educated probability in that. It might not be a wise option to question the information floated by the scientists instead of finding shelter somewhere safe.

To conclude, in most of the cases, information that comes without proper proof or validation should not be trusted, barring some exception where it might be wise to go along the flow of the information rather than oppose or question it.