The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given paragraph, the president of Bower Builder states that they should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes they build and should make state-of-the-art kitchen to boost the sales and profits. He presents some evidence for his conclusion, however, the assumptions made and the evidence presented seem weak and not supportive enough to make such a critical decision for the construction company.

The president mentions about the national survey which revealed that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. However, he says nothing about other features that plays a vital role while making the final decision while purchasing the home. Maybe the client would feel reluctant to pay the increased price, or maybe the client would prefer better build quality over the aesthetic of living room and kitchen. Also, the other features like the availability of a nice porch, parking space, nicely build bathroom, etc. maybe equally critical for the people while making a decision of a home. The argument made by the president entirely depent upon a shallow survey which neglects or forget to mention about other related factors. Thus, the assumptions based on that survey cannot be trusted for making such an important argument.

Furthermore, the president gives an example of their competitor Domus Construction that is selling houses with larger living rooms and well-appointed kitchens at significantly higher rates. This information looks very inadequate to influence a huge decision like changing the layout of all the new houses of the construction company. Maybe the houses built by the Domus Constrution were of better quality, with better built materials, better bathrooms, better parking space, etc. which eventually lured the clients to buy their houses at significantly higher prices. This cannot be concluded just by seeing the price and sales report. So, the assumption of the president looks weak to support his argument.

Apart from that, the president mentions about sacrificing the dining area to expand the area of living room and kitchen overall stating that their recent buyers did not need a seperate dining room for family meals. This assumption made based on the comments of their recent buyers looks bit more far fetched and and rather weak to support the argument made my the president himself. The decision of changing the house layout of the construction company require a deep cost-benefit analysis and simply can not be decided over some comments of recent buyers. It is only natural of the clients to look for their personal preferences, but to base the entire construction decision over their comment might turn counter-productive. To solve this problem, the construction company can rather develop some custommade sample projects for the clients while also holding their original plans.

Thus, the assumptions made my the president to support his argument seem weak and do not properly justify his claims. More reliable evidence are required. In lack of extra evidence, the argument of the pre