The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo written by the president of Bower Builders, a recommendation of how to boost sales and profits was made. In arriving at that conclusion, the president relied on the following arguments 1. A nationwide survey that revealed that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. 2. A competitor success tied to implementation of this feature 3. A recent trend as regards buyers.

First, the national survey may be problematic in various regards. Were respondents provided with alternatives to choose from or was the survey questions open-ended. If they were provided alternatives, this will impact the credibility of the results given that respondents who would have preferred other options will be left with no choice than to pick from limited alternatives. Secondly, was the respondents’ identity anonymous or treated confidentially. This raises a question to the answers being supplied given that respondents would respond in certain way especially if they feel that their personal information and identity would be revealed. Either case would significantly impact on the survey, and any recommendation engendered from such would amount to a poor advice.

Furthermore, was the survey conducted by an independent party or by a competitor. It is possible for Domus construction company to have sponsored the national survey using its employing or third party in other to get a market advantage. The president would have to substantiate with evidence, otherwise the assumptions that the national survey came from an independent body would be unwarranted.

In addition, the president cites the success of its competitor as a result of its adoption and implementation of a large family room and a large well-appointed kitchen. This assumption may be unwarranted, it could have been that other than these features, Domus goes ahead to provide its clientele with consultation services, interior and exterior decorations of the buildings. The president fails to provide any evidence to suggest that this features alone is sufficient to amount to such high prices than the national average.

Whether the houses that Domus constructed were pre-ordered remains debatable. It is possible that they had contractual agreement with the government to supply housing units for a given demography in which case the government paid for it and is now selling at a subsidized rate. Also, whether Domus Construction serves an affluent clientele is yet to be substantiated with empirical evidence by the president. In which case provides a groundless basis for the recommendation.

The recent trend of recent buyers that do not need a separate dining room for family meals may not be reliable. This trend may be as a result of supply to a different demography. To ascertain whether this trend is not a mere temporal relationship, it is imperative that a comparison of trends for the past year to ascertain whether this is the case. Failure to substantiate this, would cast serious doubt on the soundness of the claim and whether if at all would lead to increase in profit for Bower Builders.

In summary, the president has to substantiate on the credibility of the national survey and whether both Bower and Domus Construction serve the same demography. Even if this is the case whether the features provided by Domus are solely sufficient in ensuring success