The following appeared in a newsletter published by the Appleton school district.

"In a recent study more than 5,000 adolescents were asked how often they ate meals with their families. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Furthermore, according to the same survey, teens who reported having the most family meals per week were also the ones least likely to have tried illegal drugs, tobacco, and alcohol. Family meals were also associated with lower rates of problems such as low grades in school, low self-esteem, and depression. We therefore recommend that families have as many meals together as possible. We predict that doing so will greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away from bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss which questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation made in the newsletter published by the Appleton school district on the relationship between families having as many meals together as possible and the benefits to adolescents as well as turning troubled teens away from bad behaviors is hinged on 1. A recent study comprising more than 5000 adolescents. 2. Teens who reported having the most meals also reported having the least likelihood to have tried illegal drugs. 3. Family meal were associated with lower rates of problems such as low self-esteem, depression and low grades.

Firstly, the survey methodology may be problematic in two respects. One, the survey clearly provided the respondents with alternatives. This would have significantly impacted the results of the survey given that some teens may have preferred to answer in a different way other than the alternatives the survey provided. For example, some respondents would have loved to discount family meals that did not go well or even underreported them. Secondly, was the respondents’ identity anonymous or made confidential. Since these respondents are teens who are usually under the care of their parents or wards, if they were not guarantee that the confidentiality of their response then they would have given answers that were not sincere. In both cases, this may significantly impede on the credibility of the survey.

Even if we assume that the methodology was perfectly carried out and respondents were sincere in their answer. The author of this piece failed to substantiate whether the 5,000 respondents represent the minimum sample size. Also, the author fails to clearly articulate the percent of teens who reported having the most family meals per week. This number may be significantly small and negligent to make such recommendation.

Furthermore, the author fails to support the assertion that family meals were also associated with lower rates of problems such as low grades in school, low self-esteem, and depression. Clearly, the survey conducted did not cover this aspect. The author has to bolster this claim with empirical data of research linking family meals with the aforementioned problems which in this case is not provided. Thus, it is unreasonable to base this recommendation on such unproven assumption.

The author also assumes that the amount of family meals per week alone is sufficient to greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away. Are there other factors that other than family meals that was not captured by the survey? It is possible that teens that had the most family meals where kids from wealthy neighborhood who had access to private tutors and went to better school. Failure to provide information that suggest that ties family meals alone with such benefits renders the argument unsound.

In sum, the author must provide answer how the soundness on the survey methodology, that the size of the survey respondents represents the sample size of the entire adolescents. Furthermore, is the number of family meals alone attributable to the claimed benefits and evidence to substantiate that no other means can achieve the same result. Until then, this recommendation amounts to poorly contrived advice.