The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The new vice president argues that Sartorian’s alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before using the following assumptions: 1. The outcry from customers five years ago 2. Expectation on pent-up consumer demand 3. Overall increase in clothing prices. Though, the argument may seem cogent at face level, a deeper scrutiny on the assumptions in which the conclusion is base shows that a lot of questions need to be answered to ensure that the show of optimism is not in futility.

First, the vice president’s memo is based on a false premise that expectations five years ago is the same today. This may not be the case, and a proper market research needs to be undertaken. Do customers still look forward to the alpaca overcoat? It is in human nature to seek other means to satisfy their needs and as such, without a market survey to validate whether their customer segments are still in need and high expectation of this clothing line, it will be a poor advice to base profitability on a clothing production line that ended five years ago.

Furthermore, the assertion that no competitor offers a comparable product is unwarranted without empirical data to support that claim. It is hardly impossible that for a clothing line that was very popular five years ago not to have at least a competitor that would have fill the void and needs of such a customer base. Even if this was true five years ago, that may not be the case. Thus, it is imperative that a market survey is conducted to ascertain whether there is currently a competitor and what customers have been using in replacement of the alpaca overcoat.

In addition, the optimism and assumption of a pent-up demand once production commences is unwarranted. Demand is usually proportional to pricing which is dependent on the cost of production. What is currently the cost of producing the overcoat? Is the raw material needed for the production now readily available? Does Sartorian Clothing have alternatives for the supply of the high-quality wool fabric that made it to stop production five years ago. The assumptions are invalid if these questions are not answered.

Finally, the vice president fails to substantiate the reason(s) for the surge in prices. Is the increase in prices as a result of inflation, cost of production, availability of raw material, or increase in demand? How has the increase in prices affect the demands of other clothing for Sartorian and its competitors? Basic economic rules stipulates that an increase in prices usually leads to a decrease in quantity demanded. Though I concede that this is not the case for essential products like water, salt, etc. Is alpaca overcoat an essential product, this may most likely not be the case.

In sum, failure to answer the above questions will lead to a slapdash advice by the vice president on the prospect of high profitability of a clothing line that ended five years ago.