The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day. This will significantly reduce the number of summertime accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The neighboring island of Torseau actually saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents last year when Torseau's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. To help reduce moped accidents, therefore, we should also enforce these limitations during the summer months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Although, at the surface level, the argument put in by the author may appear to be cogent. A deeper analysis will reveal that the assumptions in which the conclusion depends upon fail to answer some very cogent questions. Citing that the population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer, the author argues that decreasing the maximum number of moped rentals will lead to a reduction in moped accidents during the summer months. However, the assumptions in which this argument relies upon has not be substantiated, thus, without proper evidence may amount to a slapdash advice.

Firstly, the author has given a weak analogy in comparing the Balmer Island with that of Torseau Island. Does the island of Torseau population doubles during the summer? Even if that is the case, do the tourist in that island see a significant increase in moped accidents that is directly as a result of an increase in moped rentals.

Secondly, the assumption that an increase in moped accidents in the islands of Balmer corresponds to increase in the six islands may not be correct. The author fails to drill down whether this is the case for all the islands in Balmer. If in fact for some of the islands’, moped rentals do not actually increase on these islands then reducing the number of rentals allowed per day from 50 to 30 may not lead to a decrease in the number of accidents on the island.

In addition, the author assumes without substantiation that a reduction in the number of rentals is sufficient enough to lead to a reduction in the number of accidents. What if, the accidents in Balmer is as a result of the speed levels of those using the moped rentals and that of islands of Torseau is caused by the number of moped rentals. A reduction in the number of moped rentals per day will not lead to a reduction in speed which may be the cause of these accidents.

Final, it is started that in Torseau Island, there was an enforcement of a limit to moped rentals. Did Torseau Island also engaged in sensitization of tourists on the island in addition to the enforcement of such limits. Did they create lanes dedicated for bicycles and pedestrian walk way. If this is the case, then a mere enforcement by authorities at Balmer Island may not bring the desired outcome.

I believe that the argument can be strengthen if the author provides that the scenario in Torseau Island is identical with Balmer Island. Substantiating that the cause of the increase in moped accidents in the six islands of Balmer is solely as a result of the increase in moped rentals during the summer months. Furthermore, that a reduction in the number of rentals only is sufficient to lead to a reduction in the number of moped accidents. Failure to substantiate upon the above will lead to a poor advice that will not lead to the desired outcome.