The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or otherwise fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Over the years the issues of cooperation and competition have been one that resonance with a lot of fervency. From our homes, to workplace, in schools and learning centers, government and industry, and in very rare situation, in religious centers. The view point usually converge in this simple sentence: When is it appropriate to push the other and subdue the former. In this article, I will explain the concept of leadership, then explore the concepts of cooperation and competition with emphasis on the need to promote in most cases the former.

Leadership entails the art of leading in whatsoever capacity. The long time maxim that every thing starts and stops with leadership is one of the very few universal truths as it has distinguished leading nations from lagging ones. And leaders have come to understand the value, virtues, and more importantly the dividends of cooperation in leadership.

Firstly, no government can succeed without the cooperation of those that make up its body, thus the need to teach our young people the importance of cooperation. One of the most inspiring leaders, Abraham Lincoln, quoting the holy book said; "No nation divided against itself can stand." This was the mode of the United States during the civil war, the cooperation from the various arms of Government, the undiluted unity in her arm forces, led to the nation coming out victorious with bitter lessons yet stronger resolve to build a unity - cooperation, needed to create a prosperous nation after the devastation from that war.

Secondly, the dividends of cooperation in leadership has led to what pundits now term interdisciplinary approach to solving some of the interactable problems ravaging humanity. For example, during the recent pandemic, we saw not just nations but academic institutions, industrial experts working collaboratively to provide solution in an attempt to stop the virus from extirpating mankind. For once, many people were inspired that nations could work together in achieving a common goal especially since the end of the cold war.

Furthermore, we have seen in an team work, the success or failure of hinges on the ability of its members to cooperate or competite with one another. The Germany football team known for dismantling and defeating its opponent do not have any key player but they enjoy a closely united team. Competition amongst players on the other hand usually leads to defeat, and this is not just only in football but in life generally.

Although, there are times when competition is needed especially in a capitalist society to increase value addition and create advancement. For example, the shoulder to shoulder competition between Apple and Microsoft saw great advancement in technology. Also, we have seen great competition amongst nations which have led in novel advancement in military, space exploration, and even science.

However, I concede that these competitions sometimes create division. For example the Ukraine crisis is a product of the military armament of powerful nations leading to proxy war that have displaced a lot of the indigenous population especially women and our beloved children.

In sum, I agree that instilling a sense of cooperation in young people for leadership is very important but we must understand that competition when healthy should not be discouraged.