The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Since the advent of industrial revolution, we have seen increase in technological advancement which have led to increased production process, fast transfer and sharing of information, better healthcare delivery, and much more. These advancements clearly distinguish the current man with his forefathers - who had to struggle with its environment, spending useful time to perform inefficient work, thus, was not better equipped to solve some of the intractable problems that have always confronted man. However, I do not agree that technology advancement though increases efficiency is for the provision of more leisure time. In this article, I will discuss the benefits of technological advancement and how it has made us efficient in confronting our societal challenges which does not equate to more leisure time.

To begin with, the advent of the internet has led many to consider the world as a global village. This has led to the possibility of a lady in faraway Kenya to connect with a friend in Hong Kong. We have seen how people can work from different time zones sharing information in real time. But this does not materialize to having more leisure time, in fact, what we now have is that people can now work round the clock. Since, the internet provides us with access to information, a lot of people now leverage this to study, research for jobs so as they can meet with their financial and social obligations.

Secondly, we now have faster means of transportation. This means that a young scientist from South Korea can attend to a conference being held in South Africa. But this also means that business executives now have to travel more, holding meetings with their counterparts across the globe. This advancement though has significantly increase efficiency, has not led to more leisure time as they now hold frequent meetings and conferences. Politicians are not left out, as they have to follow a regimented schedule in travelling across the length and breadth of their countries to hold rallies and meet people to persuade and sell their ideas as well as answer some of the burning national issues.

Furthermore, we have also experience significant advancement in healthcare delivery. Doctors do not have to spend a lot of time and energy in surgical theatres to carry out operations. Nonetheless, medical practitioners now have to follow a rigorous schedule to attend to patients as well as enroll on courses to understand some of the sophisticated technological devices that make their work more efficient.

Although, I totally agree that technological advancement has led to efficiency in major areas of our endeavor. For example, a lecturer can be on a vacation and still remotely attend to his/her students or a doctor and spouse can be enjoying their honey moon and give real time feedback to patients. This does not suffice to mean more leisure time but increase efficiency and more smarter work.

In sum, technological advancement is meant to enhance efficiency so that we can better confront some of the interactable problems that are facing our society not to have more leisure time