The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The manager of KNOW radio station has recommended that the station switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hours news in other to attract older listeners and be more profitable than ever. To bolster these recommendations, the manager cites the following facts: 1. A drastic increase in the number of people of fifty years of age in their listening area. 2. Music stores in their area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. 3. Continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been successful. Although, the argument seems sound on the surface, a deeper look would reveal that these arguments fail to answer pertinent questions and in its current state amounts to a poor advice.

First, the manager claims that the number of people over fifty years of age has increased dramatically but fails to substantiate on the significance of the increase with the total number of people that actually make up its audience. It could be that despite this dramatic increase, this age demography still accounts for a less significant amount of their current coverage, thus, the assumption is unwarranted. The manager has to provide data that shows that the percentage of the aforementioned age group is significant enough to justify the recommendation.

Secondly, the manager asserts that reports suggests that music stores in the area has recorded a decrease in sales of rock-and-roll music. This presents a weak analogy in which the manager assumes that both the KNOW station and the stores are similar in all relevant circumstances. The decrease in the number of sales may be as a result of technology. People can now download rock-and-roll music or any other genre from the internet or even subscribes to platforms that provide such services. While for a station, users can tune in to listen to free yet good music genres. This leaves the assumption particularly unwarranted.

Furthermore, the manager cites continuous news stations in neighboring cities and attributes their success only to the services they offer. What demography and clientele do this station serve, what is the population in their listening area. It could be that the clientele in these neighboring cities prefer news while this may not be the case for the neighborhood in which KNOW station currently serve. In which case, switching from their current service to another may eventually mean that they may lose more listeners.

In sum, for KNOW radio station to attract older listeners and make the station more profitable than ever, there should be significant evidence that suggests that the increase in the number of people of age fifty and above in their listening area are actually part of their total number of listeners. Conduct a survey to determine why the decline in the total number of listeners. Also, a convincing empirical data that shows that the listening area of KNOW radio station is the same with the neighboring cities. Failure renders the argument to poor advice.