The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music

station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years

of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also,

music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous

news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching

KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older

listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the prediction.

A memorandum issued by KNOW radio station’s manager has called for the switching of the firm from rock-and roll music station to news station. Albeit this might be beneficial to the station, the argument failed to prove this: it was based on questionable assumptions, lack of consideration for other pertinent factors, and inability to show correlation between several stated factors. Hence, all these occluded considerations largely impaired the argument.

Citing the dramatic wax in the number of elders in the station’s milieu, and the steady decline in the number of listeners, the author assumes that these elders do not listen to KNOW programs. The author failed if the amount of listeners vary per day. Perhaps these numbers decrease during work hour and sky-rockets after work closes. Perhaps, the citizens, who are majorly above fifty, only have time to listen to radio during weekends. To strengthen the argument, the author needs to show if the decline in listeners was throughout a time period or just for some particular.

Also, while mentioning that the decrease in the sales of rock-and-roll in music stores, the author there are no other channel citizens could procure the music from. Online subscription has taken over the world. The citizens, who might be technologically-inclined, might have resorted to downloading rock-and-roll music onlines. Or maybe they preferred live streaming to tape. To ameliorate the argument, the author needs to show other causes that could have led to the decrease in music sales in the city.

Lastly, while quoting the success of the news station in neighbouring cities, the author assumes that news broadcast is the only program that fetches revenue for these stations. The author failed to consider the economic situation of these stations’ cities. Perhaps their economy is burgeoning. Or perhaps these stations have other programs that racks in income. Thus, to improve the argument, the author needs to provide alternative reasons for the verdant of the radio stations in the neighbouring towns.

In summary, while switching from being a music station to a news station might be beneficial, the author failed to provide cogents points that proves these. Rather, the bases all debilitates the author’s conclusion. Therefore, it will be unwise for KNOW radio station, which is known to be a rock-and-roll music station, to switch to being a news station without proper consideration of all underlying factors.