The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"Two studies of amphibians in Xanadu National Park confirm a significant decline in the

numbers of amphibians. In 1975 there were seven species of amphibians in the park, and

there were abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of

amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically

reduced. One proposed explanation is that the decline was caused by the introduction of

trout into the park's waters, which began in 1975. (Trout are known to eat amphibian eggs.)"

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly

account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author has claimed that the demography of amphibians in the Xanadu National Park is waning. While the introduction of trouts into the river might seem to be a possible cause of this decline, the argument does not specifically proved this. The argument, which was based on logical reasoning and unjustified assumption seems debilitated by these flaws. Hence, the author needs to provide some alternative explanations to ameliorate the argument.

To begin, the author cited two studies that were conducted at 12 years interval. This is a relatively raft number of years for nature to alter the subsistence of fauna in an habitat. The amphibians might have migrated to other aquatic bodies. A quorum of them might have been killed by some esoteric yokel hunters. A lot of other incidents might have happened to the fishes that must have led to a deep decline in their population. In addition to this, the author failed to consider the population of the amphibians yeons before 1975. Surely, these populations must have been declining due to some reasons such as climate change.

Apart from this, the author failed to consider how these studies were conducted. Was the study which was conducted in 2002 more comprehensive than the the study conducted in 1975? What was the scope of the two studies? Perhaps, the latter study’s scope might be superficial to the former’s. Or on the contrary, the present study was conducted with modern and highly calibrated equipments than the 1975 study, hence making the 2002 investigate more glitchfree than the 1975 study.

However, for the argument to be ameliorated, the author needs to explain the effect of trout in the water. Merely stating that trouts eat amphibian eggs is not enough to say that these trouts might have caused the ebbing in the aquatic fauna’s demography. The fauna’s unhatched scions might not be the ilk of egg these trouts like. As a matter of fact, these particular species present in this park might be poisonous to these predatory trouts. Also, the needs to provide historical records of fish population in the river. Through this records, we would be able to assert if truly, trouts were the main cause of this decline.

In summary, the decline from seven species of amphibians to four species of fishes in the Xanadu National Park calls for huge attention. However, it is insufficient to blame the possibly baneful trouts for this deficiency. The author, who has based his arguments on two studies conducted in extremely diverse period of times, would need to provide some alternative explanation to validate his contention. Otherwise, this argument would be undermined by the author’s unreasonable justifications.