True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Are the goals one set for oneself be used primarily to measure true success? How is true success considered? Several people have different opinion of true success. Though, some consider true success to be the accomplishment of a task, while some consider true success as an act of being resilient when fazed with encumbrance. However, true success should not be measured in terms of the goals one set for oneself but in the achievement of set goals.

There are several types of goals human accomplish: long term goals and short term goals. These goals require perseverance to accomplish them and until these goals are attained, one cannot aserverate that one has achieved a success. History is repleted with myriad examples of heroes who set goals for themselves and these heroes were only consider successful on achievement of their goals. Thomas Edison for example, set the goal of begetting a light bulb. Despite Thomas being faced with several challenges while concocting the devise which lead to him failing a thousand times, he was resilient and achieved his goal on the end. Thomas success was not measured when he set the goal of producing the light bulb but when he accomplished his goal of producing a light bulb.

Another historical example of true success measured after the accomplishment of a goal is the invention of the first fixed wing plane by the Wright Brothers. The Wright Brothers had the plan of modifying the grotesque planes that were made during their time and were successful after several trials and errors. Despite facing several limitations while producing this plane, these Brothers’ success were not measure by the goal of making a fixed wing plane. Rather, their success were measured by the concluded production of a working fixed wing plane.

Although, some might contend that some goals one set are true indiator of true success as these goals seem utopian. These people might cavil further that utilitarian goals one set for oneself can be used truly measure true success. For example, Mahatma Gandhi setting goal of extricating the people of Indians from clutches of the British colonial masters. Notwithstanding, this is true to some extent as this goal is pragmatic. But consider Gandhi failing in his attempt to obtain this liberty, rather than setting the people free, he will rather cause further infliction on the Indians from the colonial masters. Thus, until Mahatma’s goal was totally achieved, the planned goals were not consider true measure of his success.

In summary, the goals one set for oneself cannot be used as measure of true success but the achievement of these goals should be used as the true measure of success. Looking at several examples such as the deeds of the father of light bulb; Thomas Alva Edison, the brains behind fixed wing plane; Wright Brothers and the great idealist; Mahatma Gandhi, one could see that true measure of success is the achievement of set goals and not the weight of planned goals.