True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The definition of success can vary for every individual. He or she may have different factors by which their scale of success is measured. However, true success as stated, to be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets is a bit far fetched and here is why.

It is a universal truth that in order to be successful, one must be hard- working and disciplined towards his or her goal. Agreed, but that doesn't mean one's success can be primarily measured in terms of their goals. Goals are also subjective to an individual. Some have short term goals while others have long term ones. Once, the goals are set , it is upon the individual to judiciously follow the path defined until the goal is reached. For example, a student sets a timetable to study 8 hours a day in order to target a score or 98% in his or her boards. Here the goal is set and so is the plan. But if the individual lacks the self-discipline required to pursue one's goal, he or she will not be able to achieve any of the goals set in mind.

Further, 'true success' is a term whose definition varies as per the individual. A person might believe that he or she has attained true success only after being admitted to Harvard School of studies while another might find joys in the small things in life and hence not have such ambitious goals. He or she might be quite content with their current standing in society as long as he or she has the basic needs or food and shelter fulfilled. Hence, true success is dependent on the mindset of the individual that drives him or her towards the established goal. Consider the student prepping for applying to a master's program at the Ivy League colleges. His or her goal is huge indeed. However, if the student is stressed about the chances of his or her entry to the program and maintains a negative outlook towards the goal, the entire effort of applying to the program is wasted as it won't get the individual anywhere with that kind of attitude.

Hence, a cheerful, relaxed and positive outlook is more essential than just defining one's goal.

I do concede that some people would agree that setting goals is primarily necessary in order to achieve success. Yes, the method of establishing goals in order to reach your destination is important and is a great way to track your journey. Nevertheless, it is just the 'first' step towards your dream. The tasks after - self-discipline, hard work, following a set routine, and most of all a positive outlook throughout are a much more necessary requirement in order to see the goals through.

In conclusion, in order to measure true success, one must work relentlessly towards achieving his or her goal however small or big that is.