The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Movies Galore in his recommendation for reducing the operational costs of the ten video rental stores, misses to consider prospects, which if true could prove that the recommendation is based on unwarranted assumptions and rife with fallacies.

First of all, the owner assumes that their "famous" strategy of special bargains would be beneficial in bringing profits rather than to raise their rental prices. However, he fails to provide evidence of the special bargains being "famous". Are the people in the city not willing to pay affordable yet higher prices? Are they famous in a different city than the one being considered here? Probably, the strategy is famous in another city where low income strata of people are present who prefer cheaper prices. If the current city consists of people from a wealthy background who are willing, it would be foolhardy on the part of the owner to slash prices when he could easily earn profits by raising them.

Secondly, the owner comfortably assumes that the changes made in downtown Marston to decrease its operational expenses would have the same impact if implemented in the other nine stores. Perhaps, the other nine stores are placed in a more cosmopolitan location where students are the primary source of their income. If then, were the store closing time reduced to 6:00 pm instead of the earlier time of 9:00pm, it would instead result in heavy losses of the business as the students who finish school at 6:00pm would not be able to make it to the store in time for their suitable purchases. Hence, the owner must consider the above question of similar impact on different locations and the demographics of the location, so as to make a sound argument.

Last but not the least, the owner attributes the recent decline in the profits solely to the operational expense of the business. We are provided with no evidence on this very fact mentioned in the memorandum and that a further reduction in this division could lead to a resurgence in profit. Probably, the latest collection of video rentals in the store did not resound with the choices of the customers? Of perhaps, an introduction of a new rental policy of paying the full price until the return of the VCDs, did not fit well with the consumers? Further, a new rental store opened up in the vicinity with prices and policies even moe friendly and competitive to that of Movies Galore. If the above scenarios were to be considered, the owner's argument would fail to hold water.

Hence, in conclusion, the owner of Movies Galore must deliberate upon the factors discussed and questions raised as above in order to ensure a resurgence in the store's profits.