Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Technology has had a tremendous impact on humankind, no doubt. But has it simplified our lives or made it more complex? Well, I believe in the former, that it has simplified our lives to a great extent as compared to making it complicated.

To begin with, among the numerous examples one can think of where technology has influenced our daily lifestyle, one that instantly comes to mind, especially in the pandemic times, is the online delivery service. With 'no contact' and 'social distancing' precluding us from doing our daily chores, the online delivery service has been a blessing in disguise! One could order from a wide variety of household essentials just by the touch of a finger and ergo! Your list of ordered items is delivered at your doorstep! Thus, the invention of smartphones has led us to a position where we can buy anything on the click of a button in the comfort of our homes. And it has also mitigated our exposure to the virus around!

Another major impact that technology has brought along with it is the ease of communication. Two decades, a single phone call was unaffordable as it was super expensive. As we progressed, until a decade, a few people carried cellphones (only those who could afford it). One would have to think twice before making any international calls as they were billed heavily. However, with the rate at which technology has boomed, nearly every individual today, irrespective of his status in society, is able to afford a mobile phone. He or she can make innumerous calls to anyone he or she likes from around the world! Even better, we can see other as we converse , i.e., video calls have become the norm today! There has never been a simpler mode of communication.

However, irrespective of the ease of life that technological advancements have showered upon us, some might argue that it has complicated our lives nevertheless. Every individual might not be so tech savvy so as to easily adapt to the fast paced changes brought in. For example, transforming to online banking process, might have been a difficult process for the farmers, who are illiterate. They must have had to struggle and find someone who could help them create an account online. But come to think of it, isn't it better that he gets the help from someone rather than stand in line for hours to wait his turn! Today, the banks have provided setups that actually help such individuals in this process.

Hence, in conclusion, I feel, the pros of the advancement in technology are of such essence that they outweigh the cons.