All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this modern world of increasing globalization, opportunities connecting people from different countries should be taken into consideration in order to help develop further understandings about the different communities and cultures across the world. Hence, college students spending at least one semester abroad would be a good practice to introduce them to different environments.

Up until now, we have been following a particular routine of classes since our college and/or university days. Being in our home country, we are more used to the established curriculum of the college, for example, having 4 hours of classes, allotted a few hours of homework, having a tea break with friends for 2 hours per say. However, if the student is sent abroad to experience the curriculum there, it will surely have an impact on the student. The study curriculum abroad might be rigorous as compared to that in their home country - 4 hours of classes packed with 2 practicals and further assignments to be delivered by the next day. Hence, a regular student will be pushed out of his or her comfort zone to realize the duties and tasks and this would be beneficial to the student as he or she would discover his or her intellectual boundaries.

Another reason, I believe is a plus about sending students abroad to study is the exposure to a different culture and community. Being in the same town or same zone since childhood, one is a accustomed to the surroundings that have rather grown on him or her. An experience of study abroad would throw the students into a different pool of culture - for example, an Indian student who is usually used to waking up early, going to the temple, collecting groceries by 6am in his hometown might not have the same practice while living in a different country where shops do not open before 10am and there is not a single temple in the vicinity of 5km! This culture change would rather aggrandize the student's potential to adapt to different environments, meet different set of individuals and thus help broaden the student's outlook.

I do concede that studying abroad could be quite a bit of an expensive agenda and not everyone has the resources to avail this experience. However, this could be reduced via collaborations with foreign universities to hold exchange programs. If the students still do not get a chance to explore studies abroad during their college period, they should definitely take up opportunities as and when life presents them (for example, postings abroad to work or plans of higher studies). Monetary support can come from various platforms and would be a secondary issue if one has the zeal to learn and explore.

Hence, in conclusion, I feel, spending one semester studying in a foreign country is a great idea and would be beneficial to the students!