"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The opinion stated in the letter to the editor that we more resources should be invested in unmanned space flights are based on some incomplete findings. Whosoever wrote the letter believes that manned flight is dangerous and costly and since the same amount of information can be gathered via unmanned flights, he or she would rather prefer to divert the money in that area. However, there are three main assumptions made in reaching this conclusion.

The author of the letter seems to assume that manned space flights are costly. On what basis is this statement made? Do we have any evidence to prove that manned space flights are indeed expensive deals? Probably, the rates are that high in this industry considering the kind of equipment required to build a box that could be thrown out of the Earth's atmosphere without worrying about it blasting of due to varying pressure (that too with a human inside). The cause to worry and amount of effort put in to create the spacecraft would be almost the same irrespective of the human inside since the investments made are huge in this endeavour. If the above reasoning were to be true, the argument made regarding the expense unmanned flights would fail to hold water.

Further, the letter states that manned flights are dangerous. On what accounts is this statement justified? Isn't the action of ejecting a huge metal body into space itself a "dangerous" idea? We are trying to push something out of the earth's atmosphere, trying to defy gravity. Of course, it is a dangerous activity! Be it manned or unmanned, even a small mistake could cost us millions of dollars worth of damage! Imagine, the space shuttle burst even before it could make it to outer space and the debris land on an unfortunate village killing hundreds of people. In this regard, whether the flight was manned or not is of as much importance compared to the number of lives lost in total. Hence, if above argument is considered, we realise that the whole ordeal of space travel is one involving great risks and danger and if this were proved true, the assumption made that "manned flights are dangerous" would be moot.

Last, but not the least, another assumption made is that unmanned space probes can be compared to manned probes. The letter states that the the recent unmanned flights have been a success and have been able to procure useful information. the question here is , how useful was the information collected? Is the unmanned space probe capable of collecting the actual samples that a human could actually provide? Is there a bot which has replaced the human in these unmanned space missions? Further, is the bot smart enough to outwit the guts and impulse of a human in case a disaster were to occur during their mission? If the answer is no, the risks involved on the unmanned mission are much higher to that of manned missions as the spacecraft is doomed to be destroyed. Again, the assumption

Hence, in conclusion, is the author of the letter must consider the above unstated assumptions made in his or her letter and further deliberate on his or her stand before reaching a conclusion.