Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government officials have been elected by the people and for the people. These elected officials have been elected so, as the people have put their faith and expectations in them in order to improve the lives of the citizens. Hence, I mostly agree with the stated prompt that the government officials must rely more on their wit and judgement while making the important decisions.

Every election season, candidates representative of multiple parties participate in the elections from various constituencies, maintaining their purpose and motivation. While, we as the common people, assess these candidates and their flowery speech and based on our rightful judgement we pick the person who aligns the most with our opinion of who would be better able to promote development? Or who would do the work more diligently than being involved in dubious schemes. Considering these thoughts that precipitate towards the election of the respective candidate, this official must realise the level of responsibility and trust enforced upon him or her. He or she must hence be a confident enough while making the toughest decisions despite the crowd going the opposite way.

Further, an official who is a mere puppet carrying out the tasks required of him would serve no use to the nation. If he or she carries out the duties as requested by another corrupt official or is a blind follower of his people's demands, the results could turn out catastrophic. FOr example, if the people of a constituency demand free electricity and all of the allotted budget is spent on fulfilling this one demand, it would be foolhardy of the official to do so. This act could result in the constituency missing out on other quintessential resources for its development.

I do concede that despite having the power to make the most crucial decisions that would have a tremendous impact on the country and it’s citizens, the official must tread carefully. He or she definitely absorb in the opinions of the people and his peers before making any necessary decision. However, the final judgement to be made is at his sole discretion. He or she has been elected to the party for this very purpose - to be able to make the tough decisions for the betterment of the nation and hence must believe in oneself to carry out the task.

Hence, in conclusion, I believe that government officials must rely on their judgements as their duty demands their decision making skills. However, they mustn't "unquestionably" carry out the demands of the people but rather consider all the view points before making his or her call.