Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Corporations and industries have been established with the fundamental thought of contributing to the economy along with making profits. Both aspects can be placed abreast for the corporations to prosper. Nevertheless, the corporations must be vigilant of the damages they can cause to the environment, if any. Since, the economy of the country and the wellbeing of its citizens are greatly affected by environmental concerns as well, negligence on the part of the corporations in this front cannot be accepted.

To begin with, I agree that the corporations were the result of a business idea. However, it is also about how much the business can contribute to the economy. As more the profits, more is the economy booming, and the citizens well satisfied. For example, if a pesticide corporation sells adulterated products to the farmers association in order to boost its business, which in turn results in respiratory problems among the consumers, the product would soon be defamed and the corporation lose its consumer base along with it's profits. Hence, the well being of the citizens cannot be and definitely should not be ignored if the corporations want to pursue their business.

Another reason that the corporations must be aware of the environmental impact that their processes cause is primarily because they must realise that the environment around us is the reason for our existence. If a corporation is filled with avarice for money, ignores the damage it causes to the surrounding environment, this will in turn harm the business itself. Consider a large multinational corporation daily releasing harmful chemicals into the nearby rivers. The release of the noxious chemicals would damage the ecosystem of the river and its surrounding plains. This in turn could have a detrimental impact on the villagers who consume this water downstream. Deaths of villagers due to the negligence of the corporation shall not be tolerated and the owner of the firm must be penalized. The business corporations hence cannot pursue their dream of a lucrative business if the process costs the lives of their very own people.

Hence, while I do understand that the primary reason for the business to be put up in the first place is a selfish need - profits, and that profits are necessary for that individual as well to feed his family, however, as the company grows and flourishes, the owner of the enterprise or corporation must also keep in mind the welfare of the people and environment around as well in order to