The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As per the argument provided, the loss of advertising revenues has been ascribed to the decrease in weather and local news broadcast. However, we would need to further analyse the situation in order to establish if the argument holds water.

The business manager states that local businesses would advertise in their late night shows have canceled their contracts. These events have taken place in tandem with the increase in the broadcasting of national news as compared to the daily local news and weather forecasts. The flaw in the above reasoning is that there is no information provided on the relationship between the local businesses and the daily weather updates they would receive. If these businesses and their profits are heavily dependent on the weather forecasts, then the argument is cogent enough else it fails to suffice for the ending of the advertising contracts.

However, I do partially agree with the reason for the loss of the viewers.

As per the business manager, the understanding is that due to the lesser coverage on daily news and weather, there has been a decrease in the number of viewers and hence the revenue. It might be the case wherein the city where the television station is located has extreme weather conditions such that the daily lives of the people depend on the climate updates. Hence, this could be a probable reason to the loss of viewers. Restoring the time for weather updates to former level might ameliorate the situation if the assumption made is correct.

The above reasoning stated also adds weight to another probable reason as to why the local businesses cancelled their contracts. However, we can't be sure. There might have been an internal dispute between the management and these local businessmen which has not been brought to light in the prompt provided. Hence, considering the reasons and assumptions made to evaluate the argument, I believe that the argument is not a very strong argument and needs further backing.