The following appeared in a recommendation from the President of the Amburg Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October, the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined almost immediately. The city of Amburg, on the other hand, recently instituted police patrols on bicycles in its business district. However, the rate of vandalism here remains constant. Since high-intensity lighting is clearly the most effective way to combat crime, we recommend using the money that is currently being spent on bicycle patrols to install such lighting throughout Amburg. If we install this high-intensity lighting, we will significantly reduce crime rates in Amburg."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation provided by the President of Amburg Chamber of Commerce maintains that the money spent on purchase of bicycle patrols must be instead invested in high-intensity lighting as this practice has helped reduce vandalism more effectively in Belleville as compared to that in Amburg. However, the president in concluding so, has made the following assumptions.

To begin with, the president assumes that the decline in vandalism in Belleville is solely attributed to the installation of high intensity lights. He or she fails to consider any other scenario that could lead to the immediate decline. What if a stricter law was passed in the month of October last year which imposed 10 years imprisonment along with a fine of 1million dollars for acts of vandalism? If the answer to this question is yes, then the installation of the high intensity lights fail to serve their purpose in addition to debunking the president's claim that high intensty lighting is "clearly the most effective way to combat crime" as incorrect.

The second assumption made by the president is on the efficiency of the police patrol teams. Are we confident of the police patrol teams doing their duty diligently? Probably, a new team of freshman has been instituted to the police patrol duty and these new comers are taking advantage of the their bicycle duty in order to travel around town rather than to catch hold of the necessary miscreants. If the above scenario were to be true, the argument stated by the president would fail to hold water.

Last but not the least, the president goes on to assume that the lighting installations that were implemented to curb vandalism in Belleville would have the same impact if it were to be incorporated in Amburg as well. As mentioned in the recommendation, the lighting was installed in the central business district of Belleville. How can one be convinced that the same strategy would work else where?! Probably, the lightings were installed in this district owing to the narrow pathways and dingy street lamps which were clearly ineffective in curbing robbery. Considering that the city of Amburg is well structured with wide pathways and 24 hours of electricity, the need to install further high intensity lighting would be futile in curbing the issue at discussion here.

Hence, in conclusion, the president must carefully consider all possible aspects as discussed above in order to make a well informed decision that would be beneficial to the shopkeepers of Amburg.