The following appeared in a recommendation from the President of the Amburg Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October, the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined almost immediately. The city of Amburg, on the other hand, recently instituted police patrols on bicycles in its business district. However, the rate of vandalism here remains constant. Since high-intensity lighting is clearly the most effective way to combat crime, we recommend using the money that is currently being spent on bicycle patrols to install such lighting throughout Amburg. If we install this high-intensity lighting, we will significantly reduce crime rates in Amburg."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on foundationless assumptions that Belleville and Amburg are similar, high intensity-lighting has led to the intended outcome and circumstances in one year will be identical for the next. Concluding the crime rates in Amburg will decline based on the prior stated assumptions is unreasonable.

Firstly, the author fails to provide evidence to support the suggested similarities between Belleville and Amburg. It is mentioned that Belleville installed high-intensity lighting and vandalism declined, but how can it surely be said that Amburg will demonstrate an identical trend? There is a possibility Belleville had a lower rate of crime rates in its central business district to start with and Amburg has the highest rate of crime in the entire country. If this is true, an illogical comparison is being established, rendering the correlation unreliable. On the other hand, if the author presented concrete statistics to illustrate the crime rates in the two cities have been identical for a hundred years, the argument would deem to be more plausible. In either case, the author ignores outside factors that could be playing a role in the perceived outcome.

Additionally, the argument neglects other presented issues. Imagine, rates of crime in both cities have been the same for centuries, it is still baseless to conclude vandalism will show a downwards trend in Amburg because the author continues to speculate other factors are not contributing to the results. For example, the distinctive reason that vandalism has declined in Belleville could be because along with the installation of high-intensity lighting, the city has also installed electric gates around the central businesses. Since trespassers might not be able to enter the area, they also might not be able to destroy property. If this is the case, the argument leads to an unjust conclusion. However, if the arguer shed light on information that confirmed the two central business districts have similar surrounding environment and the only differing attribute is the lighting, then the argument would hold more value. But even so, it is difficult to take into account all factors that cause divergence between the areas.

Lastly, the arguer builds the argument upon the installation of high-intensity lighting in Belleville from the previous year, discounting the possibility of change in the city. It is possible that the crime rates in Belleville decreased immediately after the appearance of the new lights but later that year crime rates began to climb again. Just because lighting showed and initial drop in crime rates does not mean crime rates will continue to stay low. For this reasoning, the argument is further undermined. Although, if the author provided data to ensure the crime rates indeed have stayed at a low, the argument could be strengthened.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author is unsuccessful in compiling a case to believe the rates of vandalism will decline after installing new, high-intensity lights in the central business district of Amburg.