Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The idea of if problems of modern society can be solved by legal action is a difficult one. Some believe enforcing laws can indeed fix modern issues. However, laws cannot change what is is people’s hearts or mind and so they cannot solve modern problems.

First, people will follow what align with their ideals compared to what is ethically. For example, a majority of Germany followed Hitler in the unfortunate events of the holocaust. Even though Hitler’s ideals were inhumane towards the Jewish people, people in Germany followed Hitler in the execution of numerous innocent individuals based on their backgrounds. Moreover, the era of segregation and slavery have the same concept. African Americans in America at that time were overworked without any actual benefits and were seen as a lower class than those of the Caucasian background. The reasoning behind these practices was the backwards inferiority complex related to the color of the skin of individuals that were not native to the Caucasian background. So, even in this time, though it was illogical to treat individuals in a certain manner based on the color of their skin because people had similar ideals, they followed the same path.

Furthermore, enforcing regulations cannot stop those who tend to defy norms. Take into consideration the modern United States of America. Today the practices of segregation and slavery are forbidden. However, there are residents that still hold the same values of those in the time of segregation. These citizens perceive themselves to be superior to those of color. Even though, racism has declined since the time of slavery, it is not completely dead. People in the present day commit hate crimes against those coming from different backgrounds. At Central Washington University, a man from the Sikh background was bullied and beaten up because he wore a turban. This student was injured so badly that he decided to stop attending this university. Because this student came from a background that was dissimilar to another, he was punished by those who cannot change the hate in their hearts. Although, there are laws in place against these practices, individuals still follow what is in their minds and hearts.

Finally, some may argue that there are laws in place to stop specific actions to solve problems and additional penalties can be placed to ensure they are followed. For example, the students who committed the hate crime at Central Washington University can be expelled and given other punishments. This is true, but it still will not enable him to change the morals he holds close to him. It can be seen that laws already exist against these crimes, yet they continue to occur.

Though there are valid reasons to believe that laws can aid in solving modern problems, these claims do not outweigh the opposing side. To reduce modern problems we have to address the underlying issues.