In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The idea if art to hold merit must be understood by most people or only the knowledgeable is a complex one. Some believe art will still hold importance even if the general population does not comprehend it. However, to be a phenomenal piece, art must speak to a wide array of individuals.

First, if a work of art is conceivable by a variety of people, then the more it will be accepted and publicized. For example, the theory of evolution was proposed by Charles Darwin. This specific theory is explained in various textbooks of difficulty, ensuring the individual studying this specific subject will understand. Thus, if not understood, the individual can obtain wanted information elsewhere. Moreover, art that is simplified is comprehensible by numerous individuals. Since simplified works can be more understood, it also draws more attention by the public, leading to an incline in exposure. So, if art is widely understood, it sheds more light on the piece.

Furthermore, easily understood work can educate others on a specific topic. For example, in 2018 a song called “All my friends are dead,” was released. This song explained the feelings of a stigmatized issue in society: depression and suicidal ideation. While it was meant to educate the population on this serious topic, the producer incorporated beats and sounds that would stand out to the general youth. Having a specific goal and producing work that would shed light on a serious topic. By being available in pop culture and understood by the youth, the music producer and singer were able to shed light on a topic that is otherwise kept quiet in the community. Thus, art can be used to further teach the public about topics that are usually not spoken about.

Finally, some may argue to give art merit, it much rather be understood by professionals than most individuals. Take into consideration Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare. The original version of this story is written in Old English and is fully discussed in detail to students who choose English or art as a field of interest. But it is not usually understood by those who do not study these subjects. Even then, Romeo and Juliet is among the most popular works in the world. This may be true, however, there are many versions to this story and is translated into modern English to be taught to students across the world. Which indeed shows that to be known as extraordinary, it must be comprehended by the numerous people.

Though, the opposing side has valid points, it does not outweigh the side stating art, to be merit, needs to be known by the general public.