The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. The author rests the argument on a foundationless assumption that this recent change has administered for enough time to accurately represent the customer preference. Concluding that the public does not distinguish between margarine and butter or uses the term “butter” for either, based on the prior stated assumption is illogical.

Firstly, the argument fails to provide evidence to support the numerical data. To start, it is not mentioned how the statistics in the argument were collected. It is possible that the business uses self-reporting surveys to compile the numbers. During self-reporting surveys, individuals tend to be untruthful and may not be fixed on what they report. If this is the case the data discussed by the author is inaccurate measure of the population preference, rendering the numbers unreliable. Moreover, a percentage of the population is not equivalent to the number of people in the population. For example, if 2% of a population of 100 people complained about the change, that would mean that 98 people in the population did not complain. But if 2% of a population of a 1000 people voiced a complaint, then 980 people did not mention any opinions on the change. Because the total population of where this change occurred is not discussed, the argument is unjustified. On the other hand, if the author presented the number of total populations that was subsumed in this data, the argument would be more plausible. In either case, the method to measure the actual preference and authenticity of the declaration of customers would still be unmeasurable.

Going forward, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine there is a credible way of measuring the preferences of others, assuming most customers are happy with the new replacement is without reason. There is a possibility that those that do not actively voice their preferences to servers also do not agree with the change. Individuals may not be comfortable telling employees of their dislike towards the margarine. Meaning, just because those have not complained about the change does not mean they are happy with the change. Once again, the author assumes that those that complained about the margarine are the only people who have an opinion on the change. Provided that every customer had to report their opinion on the replacement, the argument would be more valid.

Lastly, the author makes many undescriptive statements. Take into consideration when the author states “many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead.” It is not mentioned where these specific servers are located. It could be that the servers that did not receive complaints where in an area that favor margarine over butter. In this case, the statement made in the argument would hold little to no value since it does not represent the wide public.

As a result of the countless unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author fails to compile a compelling case that margarine usage in their company is accept by the general population.