The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on foundationless assumptions including the locations of Movies Galore mirror the factors of one another, customers are willing to give feedback and prices of the movies are unchanging. Concluding the adopting of the policies of another location will surely improve profits based on the prior stated assumptions is unreasonable.

Firstly, the arguer fails to provide evidence to support the similarities between Marston and other Movie Galore chains. It is mentioned by the author that the Marston store is located in the downtown. There is a possibility that downtown Marston is the epicenter of a majority of office jobs for that population and most offices close around 5 p.m. If this were the case, then closing the shop at 6 p.m. instead of 9 p.m. would be beneficial because most of the workers have left their jobs to go home. If other stores of Movie Galore are on the outskirts of the cities, then it cannot be guaranteed that reducing the open hours of the store would be beneficial. On the other hand, if the author presented information that confirmed all locations of Movie Galore were set in the downtowns of cities, the argument would deem to be more plausible. In either case, it cannot be said that all downtowns are similar to one another.

Additionally, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine, all shops are of identical settings, it is still baseless to assume by integrating an identical policy will result in success for the company because of the perceived decline in customer complaints. So, the author continues to speculate no other factors are playing a role in the declining profits of Movie Galore. Not every individual is willing to speak up and mention their complaints or opinions to those working in the stores. There is a possibility that the citizens of Marston are quite reserved and unwilling to share their thoughts with others. Then, this would mean they are less inclined to complain to others which would render the argument unreliable since it would not be an accurate representation of the complaints of the locals. However, if the argument providing concrete data illustrating that the people of Marston are overly open and honest about their preferences, then it would hold more validity. But even so, individuals of the world have diverse personalities and it is unlikely that an area will encompass the same types of people.

Lastly, the argument is built upon undescriptive statements. Take into consideration the following statement: “Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices.” The author suggests that prices in all settings of the company have similar price trends. It could be that one location is in Los Angles, California and another is in Austin, Texas. The cost of living in these two areas are distinctively different than one another and the prices of movie rentals would also differ. Since the arguer does not entail the branches of Movie Galore, it is difficult to guarantee the increase in profit.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made be the argument, the author is unsuccessful is compiling a compelling case to believe adopting the same guidelines in all locations of Movie Galore will prove to increase profits.