A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The question regarding curriculum required to study in college is an intricate one. Some believe a nation should require students to study a national curriculum that mirrors one another until they enter college. However, an identical national curriculum should not be adopted because it hinders those who can otherwise excel in advanced level courses and disrupts the fluidity of teacher individuality.

First, advanced learning students could held back of their potential by the same national curriculum. Take into consideration a 7th grader who is in general math and in other words, he is learning at the level a 7th grader should. But he also understands more complex topics including topics from algebra and geometry. Now, since there is a national curriculum in place, he is not able to move forward and join a more advanced class. Instead he is forced to stay in a class that does not completely challenge his abilities. Because he is not learning challenging enough material to test his capabilities, he may not be able to reach his maxium potential of growth. Moreover, material that deems to be unchallenging for a child can get boring to them and they could lose interest. This disinterest would lead children to not have a desire to engage in activities, which would only further prevent them from reaching their full potential.

Furthermore, having a flexible curriculum allows for teacher individuality. Not all classes are taught exactly the same way as others because they are taught by different individuals. The teachers in the education system have their own style of teaching and incorporating outside materials which would be prevented if there was the same curriculum nationwide. If a nation accepted the idea of the same national curriculum teachers will be forced to teach similar curriculum, which will not allow their individualism to shine. Instead of teaching topics that they think are important and expanding on those specific topics in interesting ways to engage students, they will be handed a pre-planned list of topics and methods to teach materials. This could cause the value of teacher individuality to decrease in value and in turn new incoming teachers that do not possess individualism and an uninterest in teaching all together. The same curriculum could cause a negative impact on the individuality of teachers and impact students who learn in various ways.

Finally, some may argue a nationwide curriculum could aid in closing the gap of inequality because of income statuses. For instance, children that come from low income families do not have the same resources as individuals who come from higher income families. A parent of a child who comes from a low income family may not have the time or materials to teach their child at the same level as a child from a higher income family. Allowing an identical national curriculum will help equalize the opportunities given to every child in the nation. Even though this is true, this will still create an obstacle for those children who do excel at an advanced level and will hold them back from accomplishing at their full potential.

Though believing a nationwide curriculum should be adopted has valid reasons, these claims do not outweigh the opposing side. A national curriculum that mirrors one another will halt the individuality of teachers and the potential of advanced learning students. Thus, a nation should not require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.