The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on a foundationless assumption that following the guidelines of a comprehensive urban renewal plan from the past will produce a similar result in the present. Concluding that the city of Transopolis will revitalize based on the prior stated assumption is unreasonable.

Firstly, the argument fails to provide evidence to support the similarity in the location of the two areas. To start, the environment of the first renovated part of the city could be safer than the part of the city that the department is trying to renovate now. This could be the distinguishing factor that allowed for the area to flourish and decline in crime rates. If the opposing side of the city is the epicenter of gang related activities, then the same results will not be generated. Because this side of the city is the home to many gangs, then the crime rate in this area will be unable to show a downwards trend. Moreover, the side of the city that was able to succeed through these changes are in a more convenient location, it makes sense why it was able to grow. Imagine that this city of the city is the heartland of the city with a growing population. It is also stated that the freeway is close to this area. Now, if the other part of Transopolis is further from the majority of the population and is in a rural area, it may not be able to show the intended results for this differing attribute. On the other hand, if the author presented data on the similarities of the two locations of the city, it would be more plausible. In either case, the author would still lack evidence for the rates of crime related activities.

Going forward, the author also neglects to address other issues presented. Assuming that the author is successful in proving that the crime rates in both parts of Transopolis are the same, the argument still assumes that the population on the two sides will follow the same trend. It is possible that the part of Transopolis that was rebuild subsumes wealthier individuals than those that live in the opposite side. If this is the case, it is unlikely that residents in this area will be willing to move to alternate housing after they have already spent their savings in the houses they currently live in. Meaning, the assumption that the population in this area will clear out is unjust.

Lastly, the argument assumes that the present would surely produce the same results as the past. There is a possibility that the economy was at its summit at the time of the first construction of the city, allowing the city to show an incline in revenue. If the economy is in a financial struggle in the present, the city might not be able to succeed again and the argument would fall short. If the author provided information that shows the economies are the same in present day, the argument would hold more validity.

As a result of the various unwarranted assumptions made by the author, the argument fails to make a compelling case to prove the city will show the same results this time around.