The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that the a transformation from the declining parts of Transpolis to a place meant for industrial use would result in a ebb in crime, an increase in property tax revenues, and a surge in the number of companies in the area. The author cites the practicality of this policy in another neighborhood in Transpolis. While this claim may be true, the author’s argument rest on the following three assumptions that severely diminish the credibility of his claim.

Firstly, the author assumes that the part of the city where crime plummeted was as a result of the building of companies. It is possible that the rate of crimes would have reduced if the policy was implemented or not. It is possible that the gang who normally attack them died in a gun shootout with the police. This could account for the reduction in the amount of crime. Furthermore, it is also possible that the robbers who rob these residents were already thinking of stopping regardless of the companies being built. In order to bolster the credibility of his argument, the author must investigate if there were other factors that resulted in the decrease in the number of crime.

Secondly, the author assumes that the plunge in the number of crime in this city was not an anomaly and it is an indication of future trends of other places, but this may not be true. Perhaps this place is just the only place where a policy like this could work. It is possible that the gangs in this part of the city only prefer to rob residents who may be defenseless to companies who could have securities, but this tells more about the audacity of the criminals than the practicality of the policy. The robbers present in other parts of Transpolis may not care if new companies that have security are built. To strengthen the validity of his claim, the author needs to determine the boldness of the criminals in other parts of the city.

Thirdly, the author assumes that these displaced people can afford the housing provided. Perhaps the residents of the declining neighborhood live there because they cannot afford housing elsewhere.The people who live in this declining neighborhoods may live there because they they are low income individuals. Similarly, these residents could have other pressing factors that require the most of the salary that these people earn. It is possible that these people spend most of their money on their children’s tuition, leaving little or no money for them to relocate. To bolster the credibility of his conclusion, the author needs to carry out a scientific survey that would show if these residents can afford to move.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in stating that would be a reduction in crime rate and an increase in property tax revenues. However, as It stands now, the author’s claim rests on threee unwarranted assumptions that decrease the credibility of his claim. To buttress the validity of his claim, he needs to address the three assumptions above.