There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities and hence, residents of smaller towns live longer, healthier lives. He reaches this conclusion by making a comparison between the small town of Leeville and the big city of Masonton whose average age is significantly lower than that of Leeville. He cites as evidence the fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers in Leeville unlike businesses in Masonton and states that whereas Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high in Masonton. While the author’s explanation might be plausible, there are other reasons that could account for the ‘’evidence’’ presented by the author in his argument.

To begin, it is pertinent to the argument to compare the lifestyles of the residents in Leeville and Masonton, as well as the type of food available in both places. It is possible that in a small town like Leeville, a large number of its residents may be engaged in blue-collar jobs that require them to exert themselves such as farming, mining or wood cutting, whereas the residents of Masonton are engaged in white-collar jobs that keeps them at their desks for a good part of the day and prevents them for having any form of exercise. In addition, a small town of Leeville may have an abundance of organic, home grown food and fresh fruits unlike a big city of Masonton that will depend on smaller towns for their food supply which may have been preserved with some inorganic compounds. If these scenarios prove true, then the longer and healthier lives of residents of small towns is as a result of their lifestyles and food availability and not as a result of the relaxed pace of life in small towns as the author concludes.

Furthermore, the proportion of physicians to residents in a place cannot be used as a good evidence in support of the author’s conclusion. Big cities have more specialized health facilities and job opportunities in the health care sector than small towns, which in turn means that more doctors can be found in big cities than in small towns. Perhaps, the residents of small towns visit big cities for their health care needs and then return to their town of residence where they no longer have a reason to visit a physician. If this is true, then the author’s inclusion of the proportion of physicians to residents is not germane to his argument.

In conclusion, while the author’s conclusion that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and longevity than the hectic pace of life in big cities, using a comparison between Leeville and Manson town, might be true. There are other explanations cited above which could account for the better health and longevity of the residents of small towns.