People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Risks has always been an integrated part of human lives, from when we wake up until we go to bed, we take risks. Things as mundane as crossing a road, jogging and even washing plates involve a certain amount of risk. Some people would say risk is an unavoidable aspect of life, while others would say that these risks could be avoided by careful deliberation. The prompt argues that people should make decisions only when they have deliberated on its corollaries. I mostly disagree with this prompt for two main reasons. Nevertheless, I do concede that in some cases, it is cogent for one to deliberate on the effects of an action before carrying out the action.

To begin, everything one does has a certain amount of risk attached to it and if one were to consider the risks of each action before carrying it out, they might end up not carrying out such task. For example, if one were to live in fear that what they might do would be risky, they could end up not doing anything. An action such as brushing the teeth has some harm attached to it; a person could be brushing and mistakenly bruise their gums. If this person was deliberating on the action and thinking severely of the action, he might be scared to brush and end up not doing that. Many of the actions that we do on a daily basis involves some amount of risks so it is not practicable to think about every one of them. This consideration could lead to delaying or forestalling the action.

Furthermore, careful consideration of actions could hinder scientific research. For example when Benjamin Franklin walked out into the storm to test his theory of electricity, he may not have carefully considered the repercussions of this experiment. If he had not done that, scientists may not have been to extend their understanding of electricity. Similarly, some scientists are aware of the serious consequence their research could have on people but they do it nevertheless. Paul Muller invented insecticides that we use to control insects. He might have known that this invention was potent when ingested by humans. Although it has been used by people for suicide, it has been of significant help for the reduction of mosquitoes in Africa. Thus, if one were to carefully consider the effects of an action, science may not progress.

Admittedly, in some cases, it is advisable to deliberate the risks of an action before taking the action. Today gambling is one of the problems of some people. These people started of gambling little by little. If they had considered the long term negative effects if would have on them rather than the positive part of gambling, then they may not have started gambling at all. Similarly, a lot of people in prison confessed to not having thought fully well of their actions and if they could revise time, they would nit engage in such actions. Thus, it is reasonable for one to think fully about the positive and negative consequences of an action before taking the action.

In conclusion, People should not deliberate on their actions before they carry out these actions. However, I concede that in some cases, deliberate action could lead to well reasoned actions.