Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Scientific and technological advancements over the past few centuries have raised the standards of living, increased average life-span through superior medical facilities and connected the world together through faster means of transportation and communication. Today, countries with the latest technologies are considered to be one of the most powerful and developed. Considering that a vast majority of scientific researches are carried out under the funding of the government, it becomes germane to ask whether the government should fund a research the consequences of which are unclear.

Determining whether or not Government should invest in a research with unclear consequences seems vague because there are no specific models to judge the extent to which certain projects are unclear. Unless a strategy to effectively divide scientific research into two broad categories: clear and unclear is developed, decisions on which research gets a grant cannot be made.

The fundamental of scientific research is the discovery of the unknown which leads to another unknown, this curiosity of man has led to development over the years. Billions of dollars have been invested by the NASA in attempt to understand the scope of the solar system, yet there is no comprehensive theory to facilitate human understanding of the outer space and humans have not stopped being optimistic for more findings. Research answers questions and provides proactive solutions. Had funding of research in renewable energy been stopped, the possible solution to the problem of air pollution with greenhouse gas leading to global warming may not, at all, be in view.

A defective research today might yield a substantial result tomorrow. For instance, it is said that Thomas Edison found the suitable material for the electric bulb after about a thousand trials. If his research was graded unclear after the first hundred trials, the world would probably still use fire for light and every bulb-based invention which came afterwards may not have been discovered.

On the other hand, when the government is faced with issues like poverty, starvation or illiteracy, funding a scientific research may seem like a misplacement of priority or waste of money. Taking the current world situation into consideration, should government funds be directed to providing palliatives to survive in the pandemic or to creating a cure/vaccine to COVID-19? Of course, they are both important, however, it would be wise to fund the research of the vaccine to mitigate death rate in the country.

In conclusion, continuous research is required for the growth and development of a nation. However, funding of research with obvious deleterious consequences by the government should be considered unwise.