Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In recent years, several researchers have looked into the issue of global warming and climate change to see possible remedies to the increasing world temperature. While some aver that wilderness are one of the factors regulates the climate and forestall the exacerbation of current global warming trends, other researchers posit that the wilderness only play little role in climate change and regulation. This contention has led to the deliberation on the importance of wilderness to humankind. As such, the prompt argues that Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if the areas they occupy can be used to develop the economy. I mostly agree with this argument for two main reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that, in extreme cases, when the economy of country is at peril, and do not have any other alternative to strive, they can utilize some of the natural wilderness area to promote the economy.

To begin, laws preserving natural wilderness areas should be in place because it will help promote biodiversity in plants and animal species. Scientists have confirmed the innumerable benefits human gain from the presence of diversity in species of plants and animals. For instance, the plant ‘iveanwuli gustavo’ are found only in certain wilderness, and these plant species are very important recipes in making certain drugs which humans benefit from. If the wilderness where botanists get these plant species are to be left unpreserved, and allowed to be decimated and be used for economic purposes, such action will yield a detrimental effect on the ongoing health researches that uses some important plant species found in the wilderness. Alternatively, leaving the natural wilderness unpreserved will have a negative effect on wildlife preservation. For instance, it is through the examination of some animal species that scientists have acquired more knowledge on human anatomy. Veterinary doctors got to know that human respiratory tract can be channeled into several dimensions by studying the respiratory tract of zebra which is similar to humans. If there are no wildlife species to study and examine, there is no way scientist will come by such knowledge on human anatomy. In essence, preserving natural wilderness helps to promote plant and animal biodiversity, which helps human make reasonable improvements in our research.

Secondly, preserving wilderness helps to regulate the world climate. The presence of trees and forests in the wilderness serves as an absorber that absorbs many of the carbon dioxide which humans release through several activities. Leaving the wilderness unpreserved, or converting wilderness areas into an urban location where humans leave will deprive us of the benefits that the wilderness supply. As such, the current global warming trend might become worse. To summarize, we need to preserve the remaining wilderness so as to continually benefit from their activities.

Admittedly, there are some instances in which this law is advisable to be compromised. For instance, should there be a major economic crisis whereby the only way for the economy to get back to its feet is the utilization of some of the remaining natural wilderness, I will agree that the laws preserving the wildlife are compromised in this situation, and allow for an immediate economic gain.