The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner, the owner concludes that the number of shoppers have steadily decreased due to a dramatic increase in the popularity of skateboarding. He recommends that the city prohibit skateboarding in order to restore the previously high levels of business. He further predicts that the prohibition of skateboarding will decrease the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. While his prediction might be true, it rests on three unanswered questions that may significantly diminish the validity of his claim.

First, is it confirmed that the shoppers at Central Plaza have no other alternative? Perhaps the shoppers now prefer purchasing goods online with the ease of delivery at their doorsteps and hence, they no longer shop at Central Plaza. It is also possible that a new and improved store with more options has recently opened in the town where Central Plaza is located and most shoppers prefer to do their shopping there. If these scenarios prove true, then the author’s claim that skateboarders have reduced the number of shoppers at the plaza is greatly undermined.

Secondly, has there been any event in the town where Central Plaza is located that could lead to increased littering and vandalism? It is possible that there might have been a recent protest or riot in the city and as normal with riots, protesters may have vandalized properties in the town. In addition, there may have been a recent political rally where a lot of people will come together. It is likely that in such situations that a great amount of litter will be one of the results of a large gathering of people. If this proves true, then the argument that an increased number of skateboarders led to an increased amount of litter and vandalism, holds no water.

Finally, is the previously high levels of business in the plaza significant? Perhaps a lot of people visited the plaza in the past where tourists in the summer who may have gone back to their places of residence. It is also possible that a large number of people who visited the plaza in the past were there for other purposes which did not include shopping. If these prove true, then the author’s recommendation that skateboarding be prohibited will have only a trivial effect on business levels.

In conclusion, the author’s prediction that a prohibition of skateboarding will return Central Plaza to previously high levels of business as well as reduce the amount of litter and vandalism may be correct. However, as it stands now, for the author to increase the persuasiveness of his claim, he needs to answer the three questions above.